Week 22A – Silence

Clipart - Emoticons: Silence faceI went into the silence this week. I am quite comfortable with silence so one day of silence was not a big deal. It was for my family though 🙂 

Here are a few observations from my day (24 hours) of silence:

  • Most of what we say and think does not mean anything and is superfluous. That includes my own thoughts of course…
  • My wife speaks less when I don’t respond…
  • My teenage son thought it was an interesting experiment when we talked about it before, but he did not like the experience of me being silent.
  • I found a heightened awareness of what was going on around me and of my own thoughts.
  • I found it frustrating to not be able to influence and control others!

This was a 24-hour experiment that I did in spite of having my family around me, despite it being a perfectly normal weekday. I am going to repeat the silence for a longer interval, but for that I will schedule time when I know I will be alone most of the time.

Finally, the experience triggered a memory of a song…

Silence is golden, but my eyes still see
Silence is golden, golden, but my eyes still see
Talking is cheap people follow like sheep
Even though there is no where to go

One thought on “Week 22A – Silence

  1. I did a little over one day and found that it was more difficult for my wife than for me. I don’t think I “sold” her on it enough before we started. My observations are similar to yours. It took several hours for my internal critic to shut up enough for me to truly be still. Hermits might have the solution after all.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

